EMAIL TO A FRIEND COMMENT

 

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal Recalled


On October 5, 2015, General Mills instituted a voluntary recall of almost two weeks of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July, 2015 because of an undeclared allergen, wheat, with potential adverse health effects.

 

Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company's Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen, wheat, in products labeled as gluten-free.

 

General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease, or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.

 

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected.

 

See the FDA Safety Announcement.

 

See the FDA Food Safety Investigation Announcement.

 

See also Medical Law Perspectives, July 2012 Report: Foodborne Illness: When Grabbing a Bite Can Be Deadly 

 

 

REPRINTS & PERMISSIONS COMMENT